Broad Beans

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Crop of the week is Broad Beans. They have been overwintered and are just delicious! I learnt this week, these are known as fava beans in America. I’d seen loads of references in American media but never knew what they were!

IMG_6147

IMG_6151 IMG_6152

I love the soft, bed like inside of the pod, like a natural cotton wool.

Cooking:-

So far we have tried the conventional boiling – about 4 minutes in a pan. YUM!

IMG_6142

And Sous Vide, the new kitchen favourite!

IMG_6154IMG_6156

The beans were kept at 85° accidentally a little too long for 1.5hrs. I felt the colour was not great, they went slightly purpley/grey but flavour wise, fantastic, lovely and sweet with a great texture, sadly too busy eating to take pictures of this stage!

*No commercial endorsement of equipment intended in this post*

Leave a comment